Skip navigation

Does Data Protection Manager 2010 work on Windows Server 2012?

Specifically, can you run DPM 2010 agents (DPM server is running on Windows 2008R2) on Windows 2012?

Fortunately, YES!  …with one issue.

The issue (in my case) is that it doesn’t properly recognize the size of virtual machines and doesn’t allocate enough space automatically and won’t resize either, so you’ll need to do this manually.  Reminds me of DPM 2007.

As usual, you should also have the latest hotfix rollup installed and your agents updated (rollup 7 at the time of writing this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2751231), but it does work. I also had SQL 2008 running SP3.

On my 2012 servers, I’m only using it to backup Hyper-V, so I haven’t tested bare metal or system restores. Microsoft, does not appear to officially support it yet: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff399554.aspx

I really liked DPM 2010 but incorporating 2012 in SCCM totally priced out my smaller clients… too bad.

Long live BackupChain for SMB!

Edit:  Here’s some proof:

DPM 2010 protecting Hyper-V 2012

Leave a comment